Friday, 4 January 2013

Sachin Tendulkar Profile - Photos, Wallpapers, Videos

Sachin Tendulkar



Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar is an Indian cricketer, and Member of Parliament. In ODIs, statistics confirm that Tendulkar is by far the most successful one-day batsman in history. In 2002, just 12 years into his career, Wisden ranked him the second greatest Test batsman of all time, behind Bradman, and the second greatest one-day-international (ODI) batsman of all time, behind Viv Richards.

Tendulkar was a part of the 2011 Cricket World Cup winning Indian team in the later part of his career, his first such win in six World Cup appearances for India. He was also the recipient of Player of the Tournament award of ICC World Cup, 2003 held in South Africa.
He won the 2010 Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for cricketer of the year at the ICC awards. He has been recommended for the receipt of the Bharat Ratna award, in fact it has been speculated that the criteria for the award of the Bharat Ratna was changed to allow him receive the award. Tendulkar passed 30,000 runs in international cricket on 20 November 2009. On 5 December 2012,Sachin Tendulkar became first batsman in history to complete 34,000 runs in (ODIs+Tests+T20Is). So far, he has played 657 matches in international cricket.

Tendulkar has been honoured with the Padma Vibhushan award, India's second highest civilian award, and the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award, India's highest sporting honour. Tendulkar became the first sportsperson and the first person without an aviation background to be awarded the honorary rank of Group Captain by the Indian Air Force. He has received honorary doctorates from University of Mysore and Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences. Sachin holds the 18th rank in ICC Player Rankings for Test batsmen as of 4 December 2012.

On 1 August 2012, Sachin Tendulkar was nominated for the ICC People's Choice award for the third time. In 2012, he was nominated to Rajya Sabha, the upper house of the Parliament of India.

Sachin Tendulkar was conferred with the membership in the Order of Australia (AM) in Mumbai on 6 November 2012. Simon Crean, minister in the Australian cabinet, presented the award to Tendulkar. Julia Gillard, the Australian Prime Minister, was on an official visit to New Delhi in October and had announced Tendulkar's name as the latest recipient of the award.

After a career spanning 23 years, Tendulkar announced his retirement from the One Day format on 23rd December 2012.

Post a Comment